What I Did When I Couldn’t Find A Job

Check it out, everybody! I have a piece in this week’s Chronicle of Higher Education about “going global” in a bad job market.

As you know, I had a rather unusual solution to my post-graduatino unemployment. I moved to India. It was the right move for me at the time, but I also think moving to the developing world to wait out the depression can work for many Millennials. It is a pretty favela chic way to handle things, but thems the times we live in. And no matter what age you live in, having a broad global perspective makes you a better worker and a better person.

So check it out, and tell your friends.

http://chronicle.com/article/What-I-Did-When-I-Couldnt/66281/

11 responses to “What I Did When I Couldn’t Find A Job

  1. Hi Andrew. Someone forwarded me the link to your piece because I’m working on a project to help journalists at Columbia University find jobs with English-language media abroad. I’d love to know more about the process you went through to actually line things up, and whether you know of other English-language media in Asia that would be interested in hiring American journalists. Please email me if you get a chance in between your adventures!

  2. This is a paid-subscribers-only link. Bummer.

  3. Loved your piece in the Chronicle of Higher Education!

  4. Andrew,
    Learnt about your current location in Sikkim,through BoingBoing.
    Am looking for Marketeers and Phys Ed folks prepared to work in India.
    Could you please put the word out for me, or let me know of a BB or Website where I could post my request.
    FYI- In Quatrain 2.29, Nostradamus says,” A man fron the East will rise from his seat….”
    It is my fervent belief, this man is in India.Lots of reasons to be in India now!

  5. I do hope you parlay this into something more than a fall back/stop over. So many opportunities to consult for firms looking for cultural bridgers – university recruiters/BPO consultants/etc

  6. Hej Andrew,
    I did the same thing…I graduated in Aug 2008 with a Masters from Missouri and tried hard to find a job…held out in NY till March 2009..then came back to India. Got married and also managed to get a job in a hospital here for a couple of months, then i got my break in July 2009 – a job with the WHO’s National Polio project in Khagaria, Bihar. It was
    a tough but awesome experience and priceless because it helped me get into a European Union Scholarship this year. Am on my way to Sweden in August to do a Masters in Global Health at Karolinska. Glad to know that many more people have had similar experiences :)))

  7. Great story, well done. I am sure you’ll be hearing from some American companies wanting to have you back.

  8. Congrats on finding a resourceful solution. I imagine being an expatriate isn’t right for everyone, but your story is a contrast to “For a New Generation, an Elusive American Dream” http://www.nytimes.com/2010/07/07/business/economy/07generation.html

    • Yes, I caught that piece as well. I greatly sympathize with the kid in that story, though obviously I was willing to take some leaps he wasn’t. It is a crushing experience to spend months on the futile resume grind. I’m afraid that chronic unemployment and underemployment is going to be epidemic for Millennials.

  9. Read your article on the chronicle. Great idea. Good to see someone with great creativity (and guts)!

    I’m looking at doing something similar – I was accepted to grad school and am thinking about keeping my predominately online job and going to live in the developing world. Thanks for sharing the inspiration.

  10. Very interesting read! I am an Indian currently in America. Just finished my graduation and barely got a job.

    I am writing to congratulate you on the strength in character that you have shown. I understand the hardships of living in a foreign country.

    And to the few commentors on your post saying “Political Science” is weak and Engineering is strong, I hope you ignore their comments.

    They represent a very old minded and ignorant India. All I can say is that they are stupid and ignorant.

    I am on the other side of the fence and I appreciate the importance people like you bring to the world. Trust me, that is far more important than some lame-ass so-called engineering degree.

    Kudos and keep up the good work. Just follow your dreams man!

Leave a Reply

