Suddenly: Goodbye

I’ve gotten an offer to work as the Affton, Missouri editor for Patch.com, an increasingly nation-wide hyperlocal news outlet. This is a very exciting career advancement for me, but it also means I’m cutting my time in India short. I’ll be flying back to the States tomorrow, and will be busy settling back in and catching up with friends in New York and St. Louis for the next couple weeks. I really don’t know what form this blog is going to take going forward, though I have a good chunk of pictures still waiting to get up.

You’ll just have to stick around and see.

3 responses to “Suddenly: Goodbye

  1. Congratulations on your new job!

  2. Andrew,
    I read your story and it hit home with me. I am a Master’s graduate of Mental Health Counseling. I had been told that I could find a good paying job once I obtained my master’s. I feel lied to and I’m very angry about the fact the I wasted all this time in school. Now, I’ve been unemployed for 5 months – soon to be 6 months…I have 3 beautiful young girls of which I had to give up because I do not receive any child support. I’m unable to pay bills and unable to find employment anywhere. I’m over qualified or under qualified. I’ve sent out a bazillion applications with 2 interviews as well – and no common decency to call me to tell me I didn’t get the job – instead they just left me hanging. I thought I knocked out the interviews and felt very good about them. The other bazillion resume’s and applications – no word. Or a populated email saying I don’t qualify. If you don’t put in the right key words…you can’t even get someone to look at your resume. I tried walking my resume in to several places -only to get told to apply on-line. So much for the land of opportunity. So now, I have lost everything – my girls, my dignity, and my hope. I am a very intelligent person – I had received 3.975 gpa in my Master’s program – almost a perfect gpa – yet I can’t get a job???? I’ve tried other areas – not just mental health – to only get rejected again. I’m at a place in my life where I am desperate for work. I am a very hard worker but very frustrated that I spent all this hard work on a good education – and I can’t even work a retail job. People with no degree have it easier than I do. So, I am writing you to find out how you obtained the job. I see that you recently took another job here in the States. I am willing to move out of the country at this point – and quite frankly, I’m not to happy to be living here – in this so called land of promise. I did all the right things and I am destitute.

    I started a business but with no funds – I can’t even succeed in this. It’s very frustrating.

    Please email me if you can give me some guidance or advice =
    cristina92568@hotmail.com

    Thanks for listening to my banter.

  3. I would like to take your place in India!

Leave a Reply

